Main Menu
Research Centers

Directed by: Prof. Shipeng Li, Prof. Xi Zhu

The goal of the Center is to promote AI research for innovative applications and products. It combines the state of arts of multi-disciplinary research, develops core AI technologies, explores how these technologies can play a key role in meeting needs significant to our society, improves drastically productivity and eciency in our work and life, uncovers new compelling application scenarios, and builds disruptive products and services. Currently, the projects we are working on include: (1) Distributed & collaborative intelligent interactive systems; (2) Automatic synthesis of catalyst and functional nanomaterials guided by AI; (3) Task allocation, switching and collaboration in human-machine collective intelligence; (4) Big data driven time-space-correlation analysis & applications.

Directed by: Prof. David Zhang, Prof. Rui Huang

As one of the world leading research unit, this Center mainly focuses on various fields associated with computer vision, including high-level based image processing, low-level based image processing and biometrics, etc.

Biometrics recognition system. The center designs palm-prints system, fingerprints system and wrist/hand veins system. Additionally, the Center has also established Facial Beauty System to measure how a person is.

Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM). According to the theoretical analysis of TCM, the Center has constructed multiple data collection devices for Tongue/Face Diagnosis, Pulse Diagnosis, and Odor diagnosis, etc. Furthermore, many feature extraction and classification algorithms for TCM diagnosis have also been studied.

Referring to the high-level based image processing, the Center aims to achieve face recognition, image classification, image retrieval and person Re-ID, etc.

Referring to the low-level based image processing, the Center has also done many works on image denoising, image super-resolution, image deblurring and image compression, etc.

Referring to the biometrics, the Center focuses on two aspects: Security Biometrics and Social Biometrics.

Directed by: Prof. Jianwei Huang

This Center focuses on designing effective incentive mechanisms and coordinated control schemes for effcient crowd intelligence systems, aiming at filling the gap between the fundamental theoretical research of crowd intelligence and the large-scale system implementation. It provides a strong engine for Shenzhen to become an international leader in the new generation of artificial intelligence industrial development.

At present, the Center has developed eight research themes, including Crowdsourcing and Crowdsensing, Smart Energy, Federated Learning, Blockchain, Privacy Aware Computing, Network Resource Sharing, Digital Twin and Digital Asset Pricing.

Directed by: Prof. Kai Hwang

The Center is committed to establishing a new multi-agent intelligent cloud-based ecosystem for smart healthcare, through employing cloud computing as management platform, artificial intelligence as analysis tool, and 5G IoT as big data collection and transmission method.

The Center's research projects include the establishment of (1) Multi-agent intelligent cloud platform; (2) Distributed cloud healthcare system; (3) Medical industry internet and social promotion services; (4) Deep learning based remote medical diagnosis and pathology; (5) Medical big data collection, storage, indexing and analysis system based on 5G IoT and network slicing.

Directed by: Prof. Hongyuan Zha

The Center's research interests cover a broad spectrum of machine learning and applications with societal impacts. Some of the Center's main research areas are listed below.

(1) Statistical and mathematical foundations of machine learning, including machine learning algorithms based on optimal transport theory, stochastic differential equations for MCMC, partial differential equations for generative models, and the mean field game theory; (2) Deep reinforcement learning and multi-agent reinforcement learning, off-policy and offline policy evaluation, and robust Markov decision processes; (3) The game theoretic perspective of machine learning, including strategic data acquisition, strategic learning and regression, and federated learning; (4) Machine learning methods for mechanism design, information design, information co-design, and general problems in computing economics; (5) Differential privacy and other privacy-preserving methods for machine learning, the trade-off between utility and privacy in machine learning, and constrained distributional robust learning; (6) Point process models and event history analysis, neural intensity functions and random measures, co-evolution of dynamics on networks and network t opology changes; (7) Machine learning and reinforcement learning for combinatorial optimization problems, graph neural networks, and dynamic graph generation.

Directed by: Dr. Yongquan Chen

"Autonomy and perception", "intelligence and emergence", "cooperation and group intelligence" are the three key scientific problems for research field of intelligent autonomous systems. The Center focus on this research area and carries out research projects, such as (1) Rigid-flexible coupling robot for oropharyngeal swab sampling; (2) Dynamic hand gesture recognition; (3)  Multimodal fusion and perception, High-precision semantic map; (4) 3D LiDAR-based Graph SLAM, Visual semantic SLAM; (5) AI-based optimization control for mixed traffic flow.

These projects aim at filling the gap in the basic theoretical research of intelligent autonomous systems, and making a breakthrough in core technologies among smart sensing, fine manipulation, human-machine collaboration and human-vehicle-roadside collaboration. It also provides strong support for making Shenzhen an internationally leader in the new generation of artificial intelligence industrial development and implementing the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area construction strategy.

Directed by: Dr. Tian Dihong

Extended Reality, including virtual reality (VR), augmented reality (AR), and mixed reality (MR), is expected to be the next form of human-computer interaction and personal computing, just as smart phones have done in the past decade. At AIRS, the Center on Extended Reality (CXR) focuses on conducting research and advanced development of key technologies for extended reality, including computational imaging, display, and automated content generation using AI technologies. The Center is also developing pilot systems to demonstrate applications of XR in manufacturing, collaboration, and education.

The Center’s current research directions are primarily twofold: (1) Extended Reality Content Generation — to explore automating 3D content creation with the aid of semantics using Generative Adversarial Network (GAN); (2) Computational Imaging and Display — to research theories and techniques for computational imaging, particularly for optical microscope, light-field imaging and display.

Directed by: Prof. Tin Lun Lam, Prof. Zhenglong Sun

The Research Center on Intelligent Robots is committed to collaborating with leading international experts to research leading-edge robotic technologies to give impetus to the application of the technologies in new fields, popularizing the knowledge of robotics and AI to society, and strives to build a Shenzhen-based world-class robotics research and application promotion hub. The main research areas of the center are novel robot design and multi-robot systems. Research topics cover:

Novel Robot Design — Freeform robotics, Soft robotics and Marine robotics;

Multi-robot Systems — Cooperative environment perception, Relative positioning, Multi-robot manipulation, Multi-task optimization planning and Decentralized control.

Directed by: Dr. Ning Ding

Research Center on Special Robots is committed to the research and development of special robots for large-scale city infrastructures including bridges, tunnels, high-voltage power transmission and underground pipe network, which can assist or replace professional staff to go to high-risk operation areas and carry out daily inspection, surface local repairing, emergency rescue, decommissioning of equipment and facilities.

The Center's main research directions include: (1) Bionic climbing special robot mechanism design and multi-robot cooperative motion control; (2) Non-destructive testing of concrete and metal components and identification algorithm of diseases based on evolutional recognition mechanism; (3) Autonomous repairing and control of surface damage on infrastructure surface guided by visual and tactile; (4) Research on the mechanism of smart city with human-machine collective intelligence.

Directed by: Dr. Long Han

Our Mission: Improve the health level of mankind with robotics

Research Directions: Focus on short-term health recovery (surgical robots) and long-term health maintenance (surface cleaning robots)

Perception: Development and integration of new sensors for environmental state awareness (in-vivo and in-vitro)

Control: Research on precise control and stiffness shifting of flexible manipulator of different scales

Navigation: Autonomous navigation and task planning system based on multi-modal image data

Core Advantages: Rich experience in the combination of industry and research, good at guiding the direction of scientific research with industrial value

Directed by: Prof. Jiangfan Yu

The Research Center on Micro-Nanorobotics is highly multidisciplinary. It is dedicated to the research ranging from fundamental study on material sciences, physics, and biology to the technologies and solutions on robotics, AI strategy, control theory and biomedicine.

The Center develops advanced micro-nanorobots with novel materials, structures, assemblies, swarm behaviours and functions, in order to aim various applications, including but not limited to targeted drug delivery, cancer treatment, cell measurement, point-of-care diagnostics, polluted water cleaning, and physics at micro-nanoscale.

The Center is bringing cutting-edge technologies around the world with great promise in solving problems that people really cares about.

Directed by: Prof. Shiqi Yu

OpenCV Center (OpenCV China Team) is supported by AIRS with the aim of development, maintenance and promotion of OpenCV. OpenCV (Open Source Computer Vision Library) is one of the most popular computer vision and machine learning open source software library. It has been 20 years since OpenCV's first release. Being a Apache 2.0 licensed product, OpenCV is to provide a common infrastructure for computer vision applications and to accelerate the use of machine perception in the commercial products. AIRS, together with Intel and OpenCV Foundation etc., is now one of the copyright holders of OpenCV.

菜单总览
研究中心

       普适人工智能应用研究中心旨在推动人工智能的创新型应用和产业研究,综合交叉学科的最新研究成果,开发核心人工智能技术,探索如何在社会需要的重要应用中发挥其主导作用,广泛提高生产力和工作效率,发掘新的应用场景,打造颠覆性的创新产品和服务。目前研究项目包括:分布式智能交互系统、AI自动化材料/生物合成、AI自然人机“谐”同、大数据驱动下的时间、空间、关联数据分析和应用。

       本中心以计算机视觉,模式识别,图像处理,多媒体等领域的高水平科研和教育为目标,致力于推动和全球高水平科研机构和学者的合作与交流,努力成为区域、全国及国际公认的一流科研机构,为粤港澳大湾区、全中国乃至世界计算机视觉智能技术的发展、应用做出贡献。

       中心主要研究项目涵盖:(1)生物特征识别,如指纹识别、掌纹识别、人脸识别、人脸美学等;(2)计算机辅助中医诊断技术,如舌诊、面诊、脉诊、气诊等;(3)图像处理,如图像去雾、增强等;(4)视频监控,如行人跟踪与识别,智能视频剪辑等;(5)机器人视觉定位与导航,如场景深度估计、语义理解、地图构建、自动驾驶等方面的探索。

       本中心重点开展群体智能相关的基础研究,旨在为大规模人机系统设计有效的激励机制和协调优化方案。本中心的研究旨在填补国际上群体智能基础理论研究上的空缺,并突破大规模群智决策、激励、协调等关键核心技术,同时也为将深圳打造成为国际先进的新一代人工智能产业发展战略高地提供强大支撑。

       中心已形成八大研究主题:群智众包与感知、智慧能源、联邦学习、区块链、隐私保护计算、网络资源共享、数字孪生、数字资产定价。

       本中心以智能云为管理平台,人工智能为分析工具,5G物联网为医疗大数据采集、传输方式,结合医疗领域专业知识,致力于建立全新的多体智能云医疗与生态环境。

       主要研究项目包括:(1)建立多体智能云平台;(2)构建分布式云医疗系统;(3)医疗工业互联网与社会推广服务;(4)基于深度学习的远距离医疗诊断与病理分析;(5)基于5G物联网与网络切片的医疗大数据采集、存储、索引与分析系统。

       机器学习与应用研究中心在基础机器学习理论和算法,以及具有社会影响的应用领域广泛开展相关研究活动。

       中心主要研究方向包括:(1)机器学习的统计和数学理论、基于最优运输理论的机器学习方法、MCMC相关的随机微分方程、生成模型的偏微分方程以及平均场博弈论理论;(2)深度强化学习和多智能体强化学习、异策略策略评价、离线策略评价、以及鲁棒马尔科夫决策过程;(3)机器学习在博弈论中的应用,包括对策数据源的数据获取、对策机器学习模型、联邦学习;(4)机器学习在机制设计、信息设计等群体智能博弈中的应用,以及基于机器学习的计算经济学模型;(5)差分隐私与机器学习、统计效用,隐私保护权衡、受限分布鲁棒学习;(6)点过程模型与事件史分析、神经网络强度函数与随机测度、网络动态协同演化与网络拓扑变化;(7)组合优化问题、图神经网络、动态图生成模型的机器学习和强化学习方法。

       中心重点开展自主智能无人系统的研究,围绕“自主与感知”“智能与涌现”“协同与群智”三大关键科学问题,从刚柔耦合机器人、人机交互与遥操作、多模态融合感知、低速无人驾驶、混合交通流、交通智联网等方向开展科研攻关,突破智能传感、灵巧作业、人机谐作、人车路协同等关键核心技术,在自主智能无人系统领域取得一批国际领先的原始创新性研究成果,着力推动智慧城市、智能交通等领域的产业变革。

       中心主要研究项目包括:(1)刚柔耦合咽拭子机器人;(2)手势行为识别;(3)多模融合感知、动态语义高精度地图;(4)3D激光SLAM、视觉语义SLAM;(5)基于AI博弈的混合交通流动态交通信号规划控制。

        扩展现实(包括虚拟现实、增强现实、混合现实等)是未来的个人计算与人机交互发展方向。扩展现实研究中心致力于研究和开发扩展现实中计算成像、显示与可视内容生成,以及端云协同处理的关键技术与系统,研究扩展现实与人工智能、计算机视觉技术的结合,实现扩展现实在科研教育、工业制造、应急管理等重大领域的初步应用,建成国际知名、国内领先的扩展现实人机系统研究中心。

       中心的主要研究方向包括:(1)扩展现实内容生成——研究通过生成对抗网络,基于语义辅助生成扩展现实可视内容的技术,并研发一个面向扩展现实应用的内容生成与发布平台,探索内容生成技术与平台的产业化;(2)计算成像与显示——研究相位成像、高分辨率光场重建等技术,应用于光学显微镜、光场相机及光场显示相关平台。

       智能机器人研究中心旨在联合国际顶尖专家共同研发机器人前沿技术,推动新型机器人技术在全新领域的应用,面向社会普及机器人技术和人工智能知识,致力于打造以深圳市为核心的国际一流机器人技术研发及应用推广枢纽。目前的主要研究领域为新型机器人设计及群体机器人技术,当中涵盖:

       新型机器人设计——自重构机器人、软体机器人、海洋机器人;

       群体机器人技术——协同环境感知、相互定位、多机协作、多任务规划、去中心化控制。

       中心致力于为城市大型基础设施,例如:桥梁、隧道、高压输电网、城市地下管网等,研制特种检修机器人装备,将其用于辅助或替代人员前往高风险区域,进行设备设施的巡检测量、局部维修、应急抢险与退役破拆等作业。
       主要研究方向包括:(1) 仿生攀爬类特种机器人构型设计与多机协作运动控制;(2)混凝土及金属构件的无损检测技术与基于发展性认知的病害识别算法;(3)视触引导下的基础设施表面局部损伤自主修补工艺与控制系统;(4)人、机器人与城市谐作共生机理研究。

       中心使命:用机器人技术提升全人类的健康水平

       研究方向:本中心围绕短期健康恢复(外科手术机器人)以及长期健康维持(表面清洁机器人)两个方面开展相关研究

       感知:研发和集成新型传感器实现环境状态感知(体内及体外)

       控制:不同尺度柔性机械臂的精准控制及刚柔可变刚度研究

       导航:基于多模态影像数据的全自主导航及任务规划系统

       核心优势:丰富的产研结合经验,擅长以产业价值引导科研方向

       微纳米机器人研究中心是一个多学科高度交融的平台,不仅需要研究材料科学、物理学、生物学等基础科学,更关注并致力于研究小尺度机器人学、AI策略框架、控制理论和生物医药等应用科学。

       中心将研发具有创新材料、不同结构、优化组装模式、新型集群行为和多样功能性的微纳米机器人,推进其在药物递送、癌症治疗、细胞测量、疾病诊断、污水处理和微纳尺度物理学领域的应用。

       中心致力于研发具有世界尖端水平的微纳米机器人,并解决和人类生活、健康息息相关的真正问题。

       OpenCV中心(OpenCV中国团队)由AIRS支持成立,致力于OpenCV的开发、维护和推广工作。OpenCV(Open Source Computer Vision Library)是最流行的计算机视觉和机器学习开源库之一,从2000年正式对外发布至今已经20年。OpenCV使用Apache 2.0开源许可协议,旨在为计算机视觉应用提供通用的基础结构,加速机器感知在商业产品中的应用。AIRS已成为OpenCV版权所有者之一,与Intel等重要贡献单位并列。